top of page
  • Writer's pictureClairissa SinClair

A Conversation with Elizabeth Jackson of The Resurrected King

I've always been fascinated with Egyptian history, much like the hero, Fitwilliam Burke, and this cover is definitely an eye-catcher for anyone who shares our interest. Today we are going to get to know Elizabeth Jackson, sassy and adventurous heroine of King.



 


The Blurb:


An exciting reimagining of a classic Egyptian adventure. Fitzwilliam Alexander Burke has been obsessed with Egypt since he was a child. He'd spent his entire life studying the intricacies of the culture in an attempt to cement his place among his peers. The only difference between him and the starched shirts he went to University with, was his theory that Osiris wasn't simply a fictional deity created by the earlier dynasties to describe the uncertainties of life and death. His convictions had gotten him laughed right out of America, and with nothing holding him back, he'd gone to the one place he felt like he truly belonged - Egypt. One day while he was working at the Cairo Museum of Antiquities, a mysterious package arrived, triggering a series of events that would lead him directly to the King of the Undead, and the lost city that housed him. It was everything he'd ever dreamed of. What he hadn't planned on was the addition of a hypnotic blonde to their party, one who was more distracting than a person had the right to be. Or that the lost city she would lead them to would hold countless secrets, each more unbelievable than the last.



Name of book: The Resurrected King

Name of character being interviewed: Elizabeth Jackson

Name of author: KJ Holliday




Tell me a little bit about yourself?

My name is Elizabeth Jackson. I was born into a wealthy aristocratic family and grew up with a sister and brother in Virginia. Unlike the rest of my family who enjoyed the curated clothing, the rigorous etiquette, and the miles upon miles of social rules, I never felt like I belonged there. I liked learning, I liked guns, and I had a knack for getting into trouble (which wasn’t the appropriate behavior for a member of the Jackson family). Because of that, my family and I eventually went our separate ways. I left home with enough money to keep me comfortable for the next couple of years and started to travel. In the 1930s, I ended up in Egypt. The rest, as they say, is history.


What is the greatest challenge you’ve ever faced?

This might be my favorite question I’ve ever been asked. Let me be real with you, I love challenges. I love getting my hands dirty. That’s what forced me to leave my family, and the future they had crafted for me. That’s how I eventually ended up in Egypt working as a hired gun, and what subsequently landed me in jail where I met Bo. I have to say, I’d never faced a challenge quite like when we headed out into the desert and faced an undead mummy, but I can only hope that I haven’t peaked and there are countless challenges still waiting for me.


What do you look like?

I have my father’s eyes, but my mother’s hair. People usually take a look at the blonde hair and slight build and underestimate me. It’s always a mistake.


What is something no one knows about you?

Because of my upbringing, I am a ‘quite accomplished’ piano player, but I haven’t touched one in years.


Tell me about your significant other.

I’ve always had a thing for intelligence, and Fitzwilliam (It makes me sick to call him that, his name is Bo, thank you very much) is insanely smart. He might not be the cookie-cutter man, he might not be the one who handles the guns or the swords or the bad guys, because I can handle that on my own, but there’s something about when he gets that wild look in his eyes when he’s discovered something new that really does it for me.


Who would you want to play you in the movie version of your life?

Hedy Lamarr, even if she is a brunette. There’s something about a girl who has the Looks and Brains. She’s got Moxie!


Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

I haven’t really thought about it. I can get along with everyone, but I choose not to. Most of the people I meet in my line of work are unsavory, so it doesn’t bode well to be nice-lady-sunshine all the time.


What’s your favorite animal?  Why?

A fox. I find a great affinity with animals that are sleek, cunning, and easily underestimated because of their appearance.


Do you consider yourself a hero or a heroine and why?  Why not?

I don’t really consider myself a heroine. I’m usually the girl that ends up in the wrong place at the wrong time and tries to do the right thing.


Where would you go on your dream vacation?  Who would you take with you?

Right now, I think I’d like to go home and visit my sister one more time. She has kids now that I’ve never seen, and I have to admit that I miss her and the rest of my family terribly, even if we don’t always get along. Obviously, I’d take Bo with me, because I’m not sure he’d forgive me if I didn’t.


Do you consider yourself to be a sexual “vanilla” or a more exotic flavor?

If I were to choose the flavor of my sexuality, it would probably be a peach sorbet. It definitely wouldn’t be vanilla, but if you followed our adventure, you already know that.


Tell me about your parents?

They are what the fashionable set call ‘Old Money’. Our ancestry can be traced back to Andrew Jackson, and it is a point of pride for both my mother and father. My father is an investor and owns a good portion of Richmond. My mother comes from a much less affluent family, but once she got a taste of what having means was like, she firmly put her old life behind and embraced what it means to be a gentile lady. They have unrealistic expectations of themselves, the people around them, and especially their children. Obviously, we didn’t have the same vision for how my life was going to turn out.


Did anyone or anything influence your sense of style?

My style is more born out of functionality than aesthetics. I live in Egypt, I work as a hired hand. You can’t really wear an evening dress when you are running around, fighting bad guys, and saving mankind.


What is your favorite sexual position?

Whatever I say. I have a bit of a thing about being in control, but Bo really seems to like it.


15. Is there more to your story?

Absolutely. With a group of misfits like us, how could there not be?




10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page