top of page
  • Writer's pictureClairissa SinClair

Author Judith Lynne introduces us to Dr. Oliver Burke

Today we explore The Countess of Invention, the latest release from Judith Lynne. You can find out more about her books (and sign up for news about them!) at judithlynne.com Or follow her on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/judithlynnebooks , or on Twitter @judithlynnepub



Let me start by saying that I just love this cover. It's absolutely stunning, and the truth is that we all judge a book by the cover. I will also add that Judith Lynne and I share an affinity for slightly damaged and imperfect heroines who discover their own strengths as their story unfolds.

The Blurb:


Mr. Cullen, the mysterious London inventor, is Miss Cassandra Cullen, and she does not want to get married. When her work requires her to meet a customer face-to-face, she enlists the help of kind Dr. Oliver Burke. Despite the risk to her secrets, she needs his help. Oliver Burke occupies himself with women and gin, trying to forget his soul-crushing family and the nightmares of the war. When his friend Cullen turns out to be a surprising young woman with surprising problems, for the first time, he dares to hope for a future. But he is fast learning all her secrets, such as her deafness, and the number of lives that are counting on her. And soon Cass learns that the dazzling Dr. Burke has secrets of his own. One shameless act leads to her father’s insistence that Cass stop playing at conducting business and get married. Now. Trusting Dr. Burke only leads her down a path of no return, one that leads to dizzying pleasure, devastating heartbreak... and forever love.

The Countess Invention is a passionate romance in which two people find that their faith in each other is stronger than the pull of any of the stories they've told in the past to anyone, even each other.

See what reviews are saying about Judith Lynne! "Judith Lynne has a wonderful ability to bring her characters to life, and you’re guaranteed to fall in love with this romance..." "...didn't want to put it down!" "Absolutely delightful" "A beautiful well-written story that makes me want to read more from this author."

The Countess Invention is a historical Regency romance novel with steamy moments and sweet ones, of about 350 pages. It includes a woman who believes in optimism and the importance of pockets in her clothing, a beautiful man who has made love to too many ladies, no cheating, no cliffhanger, and a Happily Ever After! The Countess Invention is a standalone book! but if you enjoyed it, check out Not Like a Lady, Letty and Michael's story, and stay tuned for What a Duchess Does coming soon...


 

Interview with DR. OLIVER BURKE, Formerly of His Majesty's Army  serving in Spain as a surgeon, currently residing in London. Though he  does not use his courtesy title, he is heir to an earldom - most  unfortunately. Tell me a little bit about yourself? I find it so much more amusing when others tell me about themselves.  You aren't interested in a social nobody, surely? Describe your best and worst attributes. I have always felt that in enjoying the company of women, they also  enjoyed mine. It has recently been brought to my attention that I have  misread the ladies entirely, and that some of their feelings have been  trampled by our liaisons, though that was never my intention. So what  I had considered my best attribute turns out to be my worst, and once  again I am no judge of my own character. Do you have a motto? Cause no harm. Predictable for a physician, surely. I can no longer  bring myself to perform surgery when there is no means of putting a  person to sleep for its duration. Should such a thing be invented it  would be the saving of the world. Tell me about your significant other. Miss Cassandra Cullen invents useful furniture and devices for people  who need them. We corresponded for months when I thought she was  MISTER Cullen, as she wanted the opinion of a physician for some of  her work, and I liked her then. Having now met her in person, I find  her utterly fascinating. I am amazed that her deafness seems to have  hobbled her chances in the marriage market. Apparently Britain's men  want someone to laugh at their poor jokes more than they want a  beautiful, brilliant woman. The more fools they. Better luck for me. Do you consider yourself to be a “good person”? I would like to be, but I am assured constantly by reliable sources  that I am not. Tell me about your “super power”. Have people tremendous power in your day? Is it physical? Are you born  with it or is it developed? I am extremely interested. I have no  extraordinary physical power of my own, though I will admit that, due  to unfortunate practice in the war and keen eyesight, I am a good shot. What do you look like? That is for others to say, surely. Women do seem drawn to the way I  look. If I had more time to groom properly and shave, and to look more  reputable, the men of my acquaintance might not look so askance at me.  Perhaps I should cut my hair. What is something no one knows about you? Honestly, madam, I do not spill my secrets - or anyone else's - on  such slight acquaintance as we have. Even though I have already told  you some of Miss Cullen's. Blast. Tell me about your best friend. I suppose we must consider Bradley Waite to be my best friend, as most  of my other friends from my time in the service have fallen away. I  worry to look at him, for if anything, he spends more time drunk than  I do. I believe I will invite him to Morland for this horrifying house  party at which my mother intends to examine my proposed fiancee. Waite  might be a bit of moral support if I need it. What is the worst pain you ever felt? Reading the letter that told me that my older brother was dead. What is your hidden talent? It will sound boastful, but I do believe that I have mastered some  skills at lovemaking; I take it very seriously and I do enjoy it so,  and my greatest pleasure is seeing the lady's pleasure. I had thought  that talent hidden but I have recently learned to my great chagrin  that ladies talk. As it turns out, this is unfortunate, both for  myself and for Miss Cullen, whom I did ask to marry me. Do you consider yourself to be a sexual “vanilla” or a more exotic flavor? I have yet to find a flavor of love that I have not enjoyed; if you  have a suggestion, please make it. Tell me about your parents? A more miserable pair of people cannot possibly exist on this earth.  No good can come of anything associated with them so let us move on to  other topics. What are the five items you could never live without? In my recent life, I would have said that it was five glasses of gin.  Since I have met Miss Cullen in person, I suspect that she might take  the place of all of them. What is your life philosophy? I am barely holding on to this morning, I assure you, I have no larger  philosophy. What makes you laugh out loud?  When was the last time you laughed  until you cried? I can't imagine laughing with that much abandon, but if I could laugh  at Morland, I would feel forever amazed. [Author's note: He does.]


CS==I'm intrigued and I know you are too! Thank you for sharing Oliver with us, Judith. I look forward to hearing from more of your characters in the future.

Cass and Oliver's story is available now only at Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0852XG1MK/

28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page