top of page
  • Writer's pictureClairissa SinClair

Introducing the daring and intense Calder McKenna

Author Vicki Romano is a self-proclaimed geek. Me too, girl...me too! I've only read book one in this fast paced four book series. 2-4 are on my quarantine TBR list. I have to say that the author is particularly skilled in writing fight scenes that are vivid and realistic, which truly brings the story to life in my mind. This book is currently number 59 in Hard Science Fiction and number 69 in Military Sci-fi.




 

The Blurb: In 2065, corporate sponsored jockey for supremacy in the biotechnical arena. Bullets and missiles take a back seat to cyber-enhanced soldiers and pulse weapons. In this extreme environment, only the most hardened body and mind can survive.


Calder McKenna was a failed experiment in the military's push for power. Now a special agent for the metro task force, he lives day by day trying to forget the ones that were lost... the ones that he could have saved.


When technology and humanity collide, Calder is forced to make desperate decisions, but how do you destroy the monster without becoming one yourself?




Name of book: Edge of Darkness

Name of character being interviewed: Calder Mckenna

Name of author: Vikki Romano


Tell me a little bit about yourself?

This is a bit of a trick question for me given the circumstances. I had a fairly normal upbringing in the Midwest, Colorado to be exact. My father was a corporate drone and my mom was a numb trophy wife. I was expected to follow in my father’s footsteps and ride a desk until I died like he did, but I wasn’t having that. I got out early, joined the military, thought that would set me up doing something a bit more… adventurous. And I got more than I bargained for. I excelled as I thought I would, always liking a good challenge both mentally and physically, but then the zone wars started, and I got promoted into an exclusive task force that changed my life forever. I made some great friends, lost quite a few of them, even the ones that survived. And when the augmentations began, I jumped on board not knowing what the ramifications would be. Then again, they never gave us that small print to warn us…


Why did you choose this author to tell your story?

Vikki is pragmatic when it comes to looking into the dark corners, and let me tell you, she’s not afraid to look. My life has dipped into quite a few murky areas when it comes to danger and espionage, corporate greed and power… you need someone following you who wants to know the truth like she does.


Describe your best and worst attributes:

My best attribute would be that I was a born leader, even though I don’t consider myself good at the job. Being responsible for more lives than your own is a real test to anyone’s fortitude and temerity no matter what the climate. You can’t be a friend when bombs are flying, and you can’t cower in the corner when things gets really shitty. And let me tell you, my life has been really shitty for a while now. My worst attribute… hard to say, I have so many of them. I’m human like anyone else, even though some don’t see it that way. I think my worst would be that if I do get cornered, I tend to let my fury take over. My fight or flight instincts are a bit amped up with my augment the way it is, but I can’t always blame it on that, can I? Maybe that’s one of my faults too…



What do you look like?

I don’t know, I mean, I think I’m a regular guy. Fit because my job depends on it. Tall… I stand at about 6’1” and weigh in at 220 last I checked. My hair’s dark, usually cut into a short military cut, though I refuse to do the buzz cut. My eyes are fittingly gunmetal blue, though I’ve been told they turn almost black when I’m engaged. Lots of scars, which is standard issue in this line of work. Nothing striking that would make me stand out though.


What is something no one knows about you?

There’s a lot people don’t know about me. Some stuff because it’s just too pedantic and some because it’s just too horrifying. I think the one thing I keep hidden is the fact that I’m scared as hell. All the time. In the military, we’re trained to block that shit out, so it doesn’t affect our performance, but now it’s because I don’t want it to affect my team.


What is your hidden talent?

I don’t know that it’s hidden because I use it all the time, but I can read people like a book. Though it may be an ability that was infused into my augment. That’s the thing with special skills… I never know if they’re naturally mine or if they were added as a module.


What is the worst pain you ever felt?

That fateful day my augment was triggered. Most excruciating thing I’ve ever felt in my life, like my brain was on fire and I couldn’t get away from it.


What is your greatest accomplishment?

Being inducted into the Red Phoenix. Superior group of guys with truly impressive skills. I count myself honored to be a part of their ranks.


What song should be your theme song?

An oldie that has followed me through my life and kind of speaks to me is “Can’t catch me” by Lita Ford. It’s frenetic beat and aggressive lyrics pretty much sum up my life.


Tell me about your significant other:

Sierra Mason, love of my life. We’ve had a pretty tumultuous relationship in the handful of years we’ve known one another, and I’m surprised she’s stuck around as long as she has. I have to give her props for that because I’m not an easy guy to deal with on my best days. The day I met her at the precinct I knew I wanted her, knew I had to be in her life one way or another. She has this way of pulling people in, of making you comfortable enough to trust her off the bat and that’s not an easy trait to have in our world, you know? She’s compassionate when she doesn’t need to be and ballsy as hell when we’re under fire. I’ve trusted her with my life probably more than she’s trusted me with hers at this point. I don’t know what I’d do without her really.


Do you consider yourself to be a “good person”?

*inhales deeply* This is a tough one. I’d like to say yes. Doesn’t everyone want to say yes? But I’ve done some questionable things in my life. Hell, I’ve killed people in the name of the government more times than I can count and many of those targets didn’t deserve what they got. Using the excuse that it’s your job is bullshit. Orders be damned, if you know it’s wrong you should either have the balls to call them out or walk away. Am I a good person? Deep down, yeah, I’d like to think I am, but I have far too many scars on my back to prove that.


What do you see when you look in the mirror? A monster. That’s why I rarely look.


Who would you want to play you in the movie version of your life?

I’d want an unknown. Someone who has the build to look like me and the pent up rage to act like me, but if I had to pick, I’d say Marco Dapper.

Who would play your SO?

That one is easy…Jade Chynoweth. Super fit, beautiful, determined and she has that veiled trepidation in her eyes.


Do you consider yourself a hero and why?

No. I consider myself a necessary evil.


Where would you go on your dream vacation?

To a fortified spacecraft hovering somewhere in sector 2. Earth is too volatile and full of hate to want to go anywhere there. Space is the only place I’ve been able to sleep peacefully knowing no one is out there to kill me… yet.


Do you consider yourself to be a sexual “vanilla” or a more exotic flavor?

*chuckles uncomfortably* Maybe a bit cinnamon? I’m definitely not vanilla, but I’m also not into much in the way of kink. Bondage would never work on me anyway… I think it would trigger the augment and that sort of situation is well beyond kink. In fact, one of my fears early on was whether or not the aggressiveness of sex would trigger me and for a long time I agonized over whether or not I should just stick to self-manipulation instead of risking my partners life.


Do you have a kink or fetish? Weapons LOL

If so, why do you think that particular act is so exciting to you? There is something hypersexual to me about using weapons. I think it’s the power and control, the domination you have when you’re the one holding the weapon. And watching Sierra using weapons? God, like a wet dream for me.


What was your childhood like?

Like I mentioned before, to me it was normal. Boring. We were kind of middle class but given the area I lived in, we were much better off than a lot of families around us. When I grew up and moved away, I was finally able to realize that. Being away from the bubble is a real eye opener.


Tell me about your parents?

My father was a workaholic. Long hours bowing down to the man. I never forgave him for that. Probably one of the reasons I wanted to leave so early in my life. Why I knew corporate life wasn’t for me. I never wanted to be controlled by anyone… ironic, isn’t it? My mother was the typical middle class housewife. My dad always expected her to be put together, the ultimate hostess to his buddies at the country club. I never saw her smile. Never knew her mind. Sad really.


What is your favorite book of all time? Sun Tzu’s the Art of War


What are the five items you could never live without?

My pulse rifle, my rig, my girl, my honor and my pride.


What if your life philosophy?

Watch your own back and trust no one.


Do you have a motto?

The real man smiles in trouble, gathers strength from distress, and grows brave by reflection.


Imagine yourself as being 80 years old. Tell me where you’re at and what kind of person you are:

I can’t even fathom being 80. I hope I live past 40 at this point. But if I were to survive to that age, I would hope that I hadn’t let me life wear me thin. That I don’t become some argumentative, sour prick that no one wants to hang out with.


What is your dream career?

This has always been my dream career, even though some days are a nightmare. You take the good with the bad.

What are you most passionate about?

I should say something philosophical, like my life or my girl, but really, I’m passionate about taking down the greedy, heartless corporations that are destroying people’s lives and our country in general.



What is the biggest risk you’ve ever taken?

Going into space without ever having trained for it. Terrifying stuff.


What scares you about your future?

Life. Our country is already in the shitter and the way things are going, we’ll be under corporate rule until the planet burns.


Is there more to your story?

There is a ton to my story… that’s why I chose Vikki Romano to tell it.


Do you believe there is a fine line between love and hate? Why or why not?

Definitely. Both are very passionate emotions, and anytime emotions are involved, we’re all a bit irrational, aren’t we? That’s why there are such things as crimes of passion. I mean, I love Sierra and will until my last breath, but there are times I want to strangle the life out of her too. Its all tied together.



 


My links:


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page